Craigslist – You never know who you might find answering your ad .……

My writing had come to a bit of a stall as I prepared to move my life into a 7×4 storage unit in Vancouver.  I had originally had a larger unit downtown Vancouver, however, I was shocked to find out that for the cost for 3 months by the airport was still less than one month downtown!  However, I had to reduce the size of my storage, which meant – it was time to sell my stuff.

I had to do an inventory of what I truly wanted to sell and what I wanted to keep.  Also, putting a price on your items isn’t the easiest thing to do.  Many of my pieces had memories etched into them.  Although they were only one year old, it brought me back to my great adventure of moving to Vancouver, starting a new job, and my Mom putting them together.  However, I knew that there were people out there who probably needed them more than my storage unit.  So – this blog is dedicated to those who bought my “stuff”.

The Bedframe – Went to a lovely new father to be who moved from Ontario to Kitsilano in the summer.  He figured it was best him and his wife had a bed frame to sleep on instead of their mattress on the floor since they were now expecting.  So – first sale done!

The Patio Set – First of all, thank you to my great friend who actually donated this to my cause.  However, now it belongs to two lovely yoga instructors from Slovenia! Namaste!

The Dresser – Maybe my smarts will also rub into this very talented girl who is a SSHRC PostDoctoral Fellow with UBC. Fancy!

The Ikea Couch – there had been many who inquired about this couch, but my instinct went to a guy who had gone through a bit of a change in his life, and I just wanted to help as I totally understood what he was going through.  We had emailed back and forth and then actually started to text.  It was great to find out that he was actually moving across the street from me and he worked for one of my favorite companies who I fly with from time to time.  We knew people in common, and it was a right away connection.  Then, we met.  And, we moved.  No trucks, no trolleys, just our bare hands and determination.  There were laughs, jokes, thoughts of “why did I drink too much tequila at karaoke last night” moments, tetris like moves up his 3 flights of stairs, as there was no elevator, but it was fun.  I had met a great neighbor, but I was soon to leave.  We had a few casual get-togethers after, which again, was full of laughter and a sweet calmness.  Even to this day, I look forward to our emails, and I am happy to know that he will have a nice couch to add to his rather lovely wooden panel apartment and the memories that will unfold in his new home with his special sweet girl.

So – Craigslist – thank you.  You brought some great people into my life, even just for the quick moment of an interaction of goods and also the friendships to be.  It was a big move, yet a good emotional release, which was needed. 

Here is to the past, the present, and the future and I hope those who have my old stuff find the joy, excitement, and love that I had for everything that they newly acquired.

Image

Leave a comment